Criminal Law

Practice Area

Protecting Your Rights,
Freedom, and Future

If you're reading this, you've either been arrested in Michigan or someone you love may have been arrested and is sitting in custody. You're currently feeling a sense of uncertainty and looking for answers. You may be guilty of nothing at all, a lesser charge, or maybe you are facing more charges than what you should have originally been charged with. All of these scenarios may effect your criminal record, job, or reputation overall. Any arrest should be taken very seriously and you should have as much information as possible about the crime and consequences before you make any decision in court. These are some of the most common criminal charges defendants may face in court:

Now the most important step you can take is contacting an experienced criminal defense lawyer who will take the time to listen and provide you with advice critical to your unique case. Stacey has been zealously representing clients in criminal matters for over 21 years and has the special skills and knowledge to help you navigate Michigan's complex judicial system. Contact her now so she can get to work on your case!

Need help with any legal issues?

Frequently Asked Criminal
Law Questions

Asked Criminal
Law Questions

Michigan has three classes of misdemeanors: misdemeanors punishable by up to 93 days in jail, misdemeanors punishable by up to one year in jail, and high court misdemeanors which are punishable by up to two years in prison.  In Michigan, felonies are serious crimes that are punishable by more than one year in prison. 

  • Speeding – Traffic tickets in Michigan vary by county, however if you receive a ticket, you may also face a jump in your insurance rates.
  • Reckless Driving – Driving on the highway or other place open to the general public in an intentionally dangerous manner, disregarding the safety of persons or property around you could be considered reckless driving. If punishable, a misdemeanor could result in jail time and an expensive fine.
  • Driving With a Suspended License – Driving with a suspended or revoked license violate the same law in Michigan. If you have been charged with driving with a suspended license (DWLS), contacting a Stacey is in your best interest to avoid jail time and further license suspensions.
  • Leaving the Scene – If you have been involved in an accident, you are required to stop your car and remain at the scene to exchange information with anyone involved in the accident. Failure to remain at the scene of the accident could result in hit and run charges. In Michigan, these are severe charges.
  • Moving Violation Causing Injury – If you have been involved in an accident which results in injury, especially if serious injuries are sustained by another party, you could be facing a misdemeanor conviction and jail time.
  • Moving Violation Causing Death – If you have been involved in an accident which results in someone’s death, you could be facing a prison sentence and a significant fine.

Some traffic violations are serious criminal offenses and require immediate action by a defense attorney. These offenses may include:

  • Reckless Driving with Serious Injury – If you are involved in an accident that causes bodily harm to another individual due to recklessly operating a motor vehicle, this is known as aggravated vehicular assault.
  • Operating a Vehicle over 30 Miles per Hour – If you are caught driving 30 mph or more above the speed limit, your penalties will be more serious. You will need the help of a Stacey to best minimize the potential repercussions of the charge.
  • Operating a Vehicle Over the Speed of 100 Miles Per Hour – Driving over speeds of 100 miles per hour is a serious crime and could result in a felony charge. Depending on whether or not other passengers were involved and depending on whether this is a first-time or subsequent offense, conviction of excessive spending could result in serious penalties.

Michigan has numerous statutes regulating the use, possession, manufacturing and sales of firearms, and defining criminal offenses with regard to firearms. A few of the most common weapons charges include:

  • Carrying a Concealed Weapon — It’s a felony in Michigan to carry a concealed pistol on your body or in your vehicle, unless you have a carry license.
  • Illegal Possession of a Firearm — It’s a felony offense in Michigan to possess certain kinds of firearms, firearm modifications, and ammunition. If convicted, you may be sentenced to a lengthy prison sentence and thousands of dollars in fines.
  • Felons in Possession of Firearms — People who have felony convictions on their records are prohibited from possessing firearms unless they’ve met all conditions to have their rights restored. Illegal possession of a firearm by someone with a felony conviction is a separate felony offense that can result in years in prison and thousands of dollars in fines.

Marijuana laws in Michigan are complicated. If you are 21-years-old or older, you can use cannabis recreationally in Michigan. You’re allowed to possess an amount for personal use and imbibe it in private.

You still can be arrested and charged with a drug crime if you’re under 21-years-old, possess more than the personal amount allowed by law, and smoke marijuana in a public place. You can have up to 10 ounces at home and up to two-and-a-half ounces on your person in public.

You can give friends and family up to two-and-a-half ounces of marijuana, but you can’t give more or sell or distribute it for money without facing drug charges. Selling marijuana can lead to felony drug charges in Michigan.

You may grow up to 12 marijuana plants for your personal use, but you can’t grow more or where the plants are visible to the public. Illegal cultivation is a misdemeanor drug crime.

It’s often a stressful experience to get pulled over by a police officer or state trooper. You may wonder what you did wrong — and think that you were doing everything right and still end up with a ticket or worse. You may even find yourself in the scary situation of being charged with driving under the influence because an officer or another driver on the road thought they saw you driving in a way that indicated you were impaired, or thought they smelled alcohol on you when they pulled you over.

You may not have been impaired at all. Anyone can make a mistake in their observations, especially at night in the dark when most DUI arrests happen. You may take a breath test and get a false positive reading for any number of reasons, or lack the motor coordination to perform roadside field sobriety tests for reasons other than being drunk.

When you’re charged with operating a vehicle while intoxicated, or OWI, in Michigan, you can face very serious consequences even if it’s the first time you’ve ever been charged with any kind of criminal offense. Even a first offense for OWI is a misdemeanor in Michigan, and under some circumstances OWI can be a felony. The possible consequences you may experience if you’re convicted can include:

  • A jail or prison sentence
  • Expensive fines
  • Loss of your driver’s license
  • Loss of use of your vehicle
  • Loss of your job if you drive for work in any capacity
  • Points on your driver’s license
  • Increases in your car insurance premiums
  • A permanent criminal record that can’t be expunged


When hiring a an attorney, you want someone who’s handled these cases before. Knowing the law isn’t enough. Your lawyer should be an experienced trial attorney and have working relationships with prosecutors, judges, and other court professionals. Most importantly, you want a lawyer that can show you a history of success in similar circumstances.

Dinser Law has years of experience fighting Michigan drug charges and getting results. Schedule a free consultation to talk about how we handle drug cases and the results we’ve achieved.

  • Use of a Controlled Substance — A misdemeanor that leads to jail time and fines.
  • Possession of a Controlled Substance — A misdemeanor or felony depending on the type of drug and the amount involved. Penalties can range from months in jail to life in prison and fines of thousands of dollars up to $1 million.
  • Drug Trafficking — Manufacturing, creating, delivering, or possessing drugs with the intent to deliver are serious felony offenses, punishable by harsh prison sentences and large fines.
  • Counterfeit Drugs — Drug crimes involving counterfeit, synthetic, or imitation drugs are just as serious as those related to controlled substances.
  • Prescription Drug Charges — Michigan has enacted strict laws to crack down on the use, possession, and trafficking of prescription forms and prescription drugs.
  • Assault & Battery: In Michigan, assault and battery are two separate crimes. Assault encompasses threatening someone with harm, while battery involves intentionally violently or offensively touching someone. The victim doesn’t have to prove they were hurt, though serious injuries can lead to harsher charges. There are many degrees of assault and battery offenses, which is why it’s essential to talk with a violent crimes defense attorney right away.
  • Child Abuse: A prosecutor can charge you with a misdemeanor or felony if you harm a child in several ways. Child abuse encompasses knowingly or intentionally causing serious physical or mental harm.
  • Domestic Violence: A prosecutor could charge you with domestic violence if you allegedly committed an assault and battery or other violent crime against a current or former spouse, romantic partner, co-parent, or someone who lives with you. Domestic violence can be a misdemeanor or felony.
  • Gang Violence: A prosecutor can charge you with criminal gang activity if they suspect you committed a crime as part of a group of five or more unified people. Being charged with a violent crime as part of a gang is serious.
  • Kidnapping: A prosecutor could charge you with felony kidnapping if you allegedly restrain someone in demand ransom, use them as a hostage, commit a sex crime, transport them across stateliness, or force them into servitude.
  • Manslaughter: A prosecutor could charge you with felony manslaughter if you allegedly caused another person’s death, but it was not premeditated.
  • Murder: A prosecutor will charge you with murder if they believe you intentionally took another person’s life or a person’s death occurred while you committed a serious crime.
  • Stalking: A prosecutor will charge you with stalking – a misdemeanor – if someone alleges you’re harassing and terrorizing them.

Free Consultations:

Get in Touch with Stacey Right Now!

Talk to Stacey

(810) 231 - 9352